Endangered Species Committee

The Endangered Species Committee consists of nine members, including the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Commissioner of Forests, Parks and Recreation, and six members of the public appointed by the Governor. Of the six public members, two are actively engaged in agricultural or silvicultural activities, two are knowledgeable concerning flora, and two are knowledgeable concerning fauna 10 V.S.A. § 5404(a).

The Endangered Species Committee shall advise the Secretary of Natural Resources Secretary on all matters relating to endangered and threatened species, including whether to alter the lists of endangered and threatened species, how to protect those species, and whether and where to designate critical habitat 10 V.S.A. § 5404(b).

Upcoming Meeting and Agenda

  • Next Meeting: Thursday, September 22, 2022 | 9am – 2pm - National Life Davis Building in Montpelier, Catamount Conference Room


See also:

Contact Us

Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department
Commissioner Christopher Herrick

1 National Life Drive
Fish & Wildlife LogoDavis 2
Montpelier, VT 05620-3702

Staff Directory

Nondiscrimination Notice

Connect with Us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon
RSS icon

The mission of the Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department is the conservation of all species of fish, wildlife, and plants and their habitats for the people of Vermont.